The Goods: Costco’s Orange Chicken

I’ve been meaning to write about this forEVER…but I would always forget to take pictures of the food! Finally got my act together.


Today I want to discuss frozen orange chicken options. If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you know I always sung the praises of Trader Joe’s Mandarin Orange Chicken (in the freezer section). It’s yummy, we loved it, ate it all the time. Then one day we tried Costco’s version (also in the freezer section and comparable in price). I never thought Costco would trump TJ’s, but in this case it did.

Reason #1: The Meat. I mean, just look at those yummy frozen chicken pieces! It’s all white meat. TJ’s isn’t. Seriously, the first time I poured the Costco version on the baking sheet, I was shocked at how much more appetizing and yummy that chicken looked.


Reason #2: The Sauce. I don’t necessarily agree with this reason…but Nate does. The sauce is different. I actually kind of like TJ’s sauce better because it has a little kick to it, but Nate definitely likes the Costco sauce better. It’s more orange-y and fresher tasting. Despite my affinity for the TJ’s sauce…I agree the Costco sauce is dang good. And the quality of the chicken in the Costco version definitely makes me willing to give up the TJs sauce.

So there you go. Orange Chicken review finally done. I feel like I’ve cheated on Joe, but hopefully he’ll forgive me.

Leave a comment